Skip to main content
close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.

A Short History of Folk Music (guest presenter Doug Morris)

Celebrate People’s Music - Part 1

2024-04-20 15:30:00 2024-04-20 17:00:00 America/New_York A Short History of Folk Music (guest presenter Doug Morris) We will share music that taps into escape, understanding, and transformation. Audience participation encouraged - singing, insights, dialogue! Whetstone -

Saturday, April 20
3:30pm - 5:00pm

Add to Calendar 2024-04-20 15:30:00 2024-04-20 17:00:00 America/New_York A Short History of Folk Music (guest presenter Doug Morris) We will share music that taps into escape, understanding, and transformation. Audience participation encouraged - singing, insights, dialogue! Whetstone -

We will share music that taps into escape, understanding, and transformation. Audience participation encouraged - singing, insights, dialogue!

Celebrate People’s Music!  Pete Seeger said, "some music can help us escape our troubles; some music can help us understand our troubles, and some music can help us do something about our troubles." In a Short History of People's Music, we will share music that taps into escape, understanding, and transformation. We’ll talk about what Pete called "the folk process." Audience participation encouraged - singing, insights, dialogue!

Part 1: Years 1840 to 1940, and will include: field songs, dance songs, freedom songs, railroad songs, protest songs, union songs, e.g., Joe Hill, Industrial Workers of the World, Florence Reese.  (Part 2 takes place at Whetstone on 4/28/24.)

Doug Morris (Ph.D., Penn State) teaches in the world of critical pedagogy at West Chester University. He is a former jazz guitarist, a singer, a composer, and a performer of "people's songs." Dr. Morris has written about Woody Guthrie, Pete Seeger, Bruce Springsteen, and others in the tradition of "people's music”.

AGE GROUP: | Families | Adults |

EVENT TYPE: | Families | Community Event |

Whetstone

Phone: 614-645-2275
Branch manager
Wendy

Hours
Mon, May 20 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, May 21 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, May 22 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, May 23 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Fri, May 24 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, May 25 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, May 26 Closed

Upcoming events

Tue, May 28, 3:30pm - 6:30pm

Wed, May 29, 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Wed, May 29, 3:30pm - 6:30pm

Wed, May 29, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Meeting Room

Sat, Jun 01, 10:00am - 10:30am

Sat, Jun 01, 11:00am - 11:30am

Sat, Jun 01, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Sat, Jun 01, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Meeting Room

Mon, Jun 03, 10:00am - 10:45am
Meeting Room

Mon, Jun 03, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Meeting Room

Mon, Jun 03, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Meeting Room

Mon, Jun 03, 3:30pm - 6:00pm

Mon, Jun 03, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Mon, Jun 03, 5:00pm - 6:00pm

Mon, Jun 03, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Meeting Room

Tue, Jun 04, 10:00am - 10:30am

Tue, Jun 04, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Jun 04, 3:30pm - 6:00pm

Tue, Jun 04, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Wed, Jun 05, 10:00am - 10:35am

Wed, Jun 05, 11:00am - 11:40am
Meeting Room

Wed, Jun 05, 3:30pm - 6:00pm

Wed, Jun 05, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Meeting Room

Thu, Jun 06, 10:00am - 10:30am

Thu, Jun 06, 11:00am - 11:30am

Thu, Jun 06, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Meeting Room

Thu, Jun 06, 3:30pm - 6:00pm

Fri, Jun 07, 11:00am - 11:45am
Meeting Room
Please contact the library to register for this event.

Fri, Jun 07, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Fri, Jun 07, 3:30pm - 6:00pm

Sat, Jun 08, 10:00am - 10:30am

Sat, Jun 08, 11:00am - 11:30am

Sat, Jun 08, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Mon, Jun 10, 10:00am - 10:45am
Meeting Room

Mon, Jun 10, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Meeting Room

Mon, Jun 10, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Meeting Room

Mon, Jun 10, 3:30pm - 6:00pm

Mon, Jun 10, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Mon, Jun 10, 5:00pm - 6:00pm

Mon, Jun 10, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Meeting Room

Tue, Jun 11, 10:00am - 10:30am

Tue, Jun 11, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Jun 11, 3:30pm - 6:00pm

Tue, Jun 11, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Wed, Jun 12, 10:00am - 10:35am

Wed, Jun 12, 11:00am - 11:40am
Meeting Room

Wed, Jun 12, 3:30pm - 6:00pm

Wed, Jun 12, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Meeting Room

Thu, Jun 13, 10:00am - 10:30am

Thu, Jun 13, 11:00am - 11:30am

Thu, Jun 13, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Meeting Room

Thu, Jun 13, 3:30pm - 6:00pm

Fri, Jun 14, 11:00am - 11:45am
Meeting Room
Please contact the library to register for this event.

Fri, Jun 14, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Meeting Room

Fri, Jun 14, 3:30pm - 6:00pm

Sat, Jun 15, 10:00am - 10:30am

Sat, Jun 15, 11:00am - 11:30am

Sat, Jun 15, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Meeting Room

Mon, Jun 17, 10:00am - 10:45am
Meeting Room

Mon, Jun 17, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Meeting Room

Mon, Jun 17, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Meeting Room

Mon, Jun 17, 3:30pm - 6:00pm

Mon, Jun 17, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Mon, Jun 17, 5:00pm - 6:00pm

Mon, Jun 17, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Meeting Room

Tue, Jun 18, 10:00am - 10:30am

Tue, Jun 18, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Jun 18, 3:30pm - 6:00pm

Tue, Jun 18, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Thu, Jun 20, 10:00am - 10:30am

Thu, Jun 20, 11:00am - 11:30am

Thu, Jun 20, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Meeting Room

Thu, Jun 20, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Thu, Jun 20, 3:30pm - 6:00pm

Fri, Jun 21, 11:00am - 11:45am
Meeting Room
Please contact the library to register for this event.

Fri, Jun 21, 3:30pm - 6:00pm

Sat, Jun 22, 10:00am - 10:30am

Sat, Jun 22, 11:00am - 11:30am

Sat, Jun 22, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Mon, Jun 24, 10:00am - 10:45am
Meeting Room

Mon, Jun 24, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Meeting Room

Mon, Jun 24, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Meeting Room

Mon, Jun 24, 3:30pm - 6:00pm

Mon, Jun 24, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Mon, Jun 24, 5:00pm - 6:00pm

Mon, Jun 24, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Meeting Room